NCTE14: Two Tips and an Unexpected Aha

There were so many great sessions at NCTE14, the toughest part was choosing which one to attend. The panel discussion on Reluctant Readers Overcoming Shame chaired by Justin Stygles was one that called to me. Initially, it spoke to what I know to be true with my readers.

The reflections on their own learning experiences were personal, revealing and in some ways startling. The power of teachers words was at the core of each panelists’ presentation.

Lynda Mullaly Hunt (One for the Murphys and Fish in a Tree) shared pieces of her growing up and teaching life. She was that snarky-make-me-do-it kind of student. She didn’t fit the mold. It took a middle school teacher to “see” and her strengths to help her get past her shame and grow. As a teacher, Lynda, found ways to reach “those” students . One way she let kids know she “saw them”  was by giving them a business card with space to write a personal message. Something quick and easy, but also thick and durable: a real keepsake for a student needing acknowledgement. I love this idea and plan to get a stash of cards printed up.

2014-11-27 13.28.01

Liesl Shurtliff (Rump) shared the importance of listening to students and respecting their choice in books. She highlighted the need to be careful about what we teachers say is a “great” book. Imagine sharing a book we “love” and students for whatever reason don’t love it. What does that imply?

Teacher’s words can lift up or put down and possibly, inadvertently shame a student. I walked away with this important reminder. Thoughts about good teachers being in touch with their inner student also tugged at my heart.

This led me to think a little more about myself as a student. I’ve thought on this before, but never really named it. I wasn’t the struggler. I wasn’t the super star. I was the one who followed the rules and tried not to get noticed.  You know that kid. The hider. For students like me, school was a place where I was invisible. It took leaving the school world, age, and mentors who saw me and asked more of me before I managed to step out and grow. Imagine, what if a teacher had seen me sooner.

Those kids, the hiders, make up a pretty big portion of my students. Their names are ringing in my head.

You can’t help but notice the strugglers and the stars. But the hiders, the quiet ones, are easy to ignore. I admit it: I”m guilty. And oh what a very big and unexpected aha.

When I walked out of the session on shame I had two things in hand. The bigger thing took days to get to. Today I celebrate the brave teachers who shared at NCTE14, the time to think about their message, and a space to reflect and grow in.

celebrate link up

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “NCTE14: Two Tips and an Unexpected Aha

  1. Isn’t the internet wonderful? You had an inspirational and powerful experience and now you can share some of it with your readers all over the world.

  2. I wish I’d made it to this session, too, but saw some powerful tweets and have read several thoughtful reflections on blogs so I feel like I can learn vicariously. What a tremendous insight about our students who hide! It is so easy to overlook the ones who don’t demand our attention. Your post has me thinking about my own students who hide and what I can do to draw them more into the class.

  3. Julieanne, thanks for the reminder to open my ears (and my heart) to hear the quiet ones, to remember the power our teacher voices have, and our responsibility to use them well.

  4. Really appreciate these reflections. I have learned so much from NCTE this year – even though I am on the opposite coast and in another country! Reading blogs and tweets has given me a lot!

  5. Lynda, Justin, and Liesl – such wonderful people to learn from. My class Skyped Liesl after reading Rump, and we loved her! I’ve never heard Lynda speak, but I bet she is amazing. Justin, too!!

  6. Wise words, Julieanne. I’ve written about those ‘quiet’ ones before too, & try hard to find them first when conferring. They don’t often change their ways, but they do make progress. I loved seeing Lynda Mullaly Hunt last year at my state conference, & the idea of the ‘business’ card notes. Now that I’m back in the classroom, time to make them! Thanks for the reminder, & for your ideas that you brought from NCTE to us.

  7. I was outside the door on this one, but I got to see some of it. I feel choice is huge when it comes to reluctant readers. I struggle with this because my students are advanced so I cringe when they choose Captain Underpants or Diary of a Wimpy Kid.
    Can you send me an email with your email address? I’d like to discuss next year. margaretsmn at gmail dot com. Thanks.

Leave a comment