Scheduling Time to Drift

It’s the first summer Slice of LIfe. Thank you all at Two Writing Teachers. I’m looking forward to the summer slices. Read more of Slicer work here.

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

I woke up this morning thinking; running through what was on my to do list. I knew swimming was up first. I really wanted to go. Some mornings I’m excited to get to the pool, other days not so much. This morning lying there in bed, I wanted to swim.

Not yet though. Still things to go over in my head. Yesterday was strange. The PD I did on Writer’s Workshop was bugging me. I have a second class on Friday for another group, so I ruminate on what to change. More activities I’m thinking, six hours is a long time to fill. Set norms up front I think. Those certain folks with the phones out talking about apps that were totally unrelated, when they were suppose to be working on creating teaching points based on student work. Really? But wait, this is just depressing me. So I stop.

Think. Today swim first. Then go to my classroom; finish up the room for summer. This brings my brain to the recent news of people leaving my school. Others coming in. Shifting sands, leaving me a bit off, a bit irritated. Felt that last night as I went to bed. Fell asleep after reading the first chapter of Linda Rief’s Read, Write, Teach (thank you Tara for this great review.) That centered me and reminded me of why I do love what I do. The anticipation of spending the day with this book lifted me up out of bed and to my back pack.

Swim things ready? Hmm, shorts? I pull open the drawer that holds clothes I only see this time of year and that rush of summer hit me.

I put the shorts in my bag, and I’m reminded of the appointments I need to make. With less scheduled time, comes all of those things I’ve set aside to do when I have the time. That time is now, so I tell myself after swim, make those appointments.

I walk into the bathroom grab a towel. Nice, I think to swim today. Normally I don’t swim on Tuesdays. Tuesdays, I think. Hmm. Why is it that I haven’t been swimming on Tuesdays?

Slice of Life! I totally forgot. Only the second day of summer and I’m lost. With freedom from the bell schedule, comes disorientation.

I sat down and thought, maybe I should skip the swim get right to blogging, then I can get my classroom, clean it up so I’ll be done.

But, no wait.

I can swim, blog and then clean. No one but me will go in the room.

Breathe, it is summer I remind myself.

It’s time to create a different way of moving through time. I have lots of things scheduled.  But I want to find time to “do summer.”  I want to find those spots, moments that allow time to move a little slower, so I can move a little slower. I want to find that time to be outside, doing un school like things, That time to talk, to not worry about getting to the next thing. TImes when no one is expecting me there, when I can just drift a bit, without a to do list.

M

6 thoughts on “Scheduling Time to Drift

  1. We are most fortunate in our adult lives to have time to “just drift a bit”. It always surprises me how it takes a little while to decompress. Enjoy your summer rest.

  2. This was just like being in your head as one thought popped and and another took its place. This time is the luxury of a vacation well earned from a long year of working. Enjoy the swim, the drifting, and some reading.
    My boot is off my foot. It is mostly healed but it still hurts and swells when I walk too much. Thanks for asking. 🙂

  3. Just love this! It takes time to feel as though you can drift through the day…no more bells and schedules to guide you! Hope you enjoyed that swim!

Leave a comment