#SOL15: Day 11, Of DMs and Extra Credit

Life can be unfair. That’s a lesson you don’t want to teach your child.

I hear the tears. I knock on the closed door.

Go away! Leave me alone.

I walk away guessing at what happened.

I busy myself in the kitchen. Then I get a text.

Can u come here.

I enter the room and hug my wounded child huddled amongst the comforter, stuffed animals and pillows.

I worked so hard. I don’t understand. I don’t know what to do. It’s not fair.

I wait out the storm. Tears.  Lots of tears.

The cell phone buzzes with DMs.

I just listen and say very little.

I don’t understand. I don’t know what to do. 

More tears. I wait.

Eventually, there is room for me. I say, I know that it seems impossibly hard, but I know you can handle this. I say, I love you.

I don’t think I can do this. 

I say, I know you can; you are strong. I say, I love you.

I say, cry, be angry, lean on people who love you.

I sit there for a long time. And slowly, I see a hint of a smile. The result of a DM that lifts her up just a little.

Ah, there is hope. Is that blue sky peeking through?  I offer just a bit of advice, with lots space for her.

It’s late, but the skies have cleared with talk of how to get extra credit in history.

Soon it’s off to bed with a thank you momma. I love you.

Life can deliver messages that we aren’t ready for; that we don’t expect; that feel coldly unjust.

But life also gives us people who love us and tomorrow, and extra credit opportunities.

Thanks to Anna, Beth, Betsy, Dana, Stacey and Tara of Two Writing Teachers blog for hosting the Slice of Life March Story Challenge. Read other bloggers slices here.

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “#SOL15: Day 11, Of DMs and Extra Credit

  1. Alls well that ends well. She is so lucky to have you there for her. You were patient and observant, waiting it out until she was ready to turn to you. It was a dance of emotions.

  2. Doesn’t your heart just break for them in times like these? “I wait out the storm.” That is just what it is like, great description of a tough time. Glad blue sky came your way. 🙂

  3. You sound so patient in this, Juieanne, and loving too. There are no “right” words when our children are upset, but helping them know they can get past the hurt will help in so many ways in all their lives. Glad for her there is that blue sky!

  4. Some of life’s lessons are hard, especially for teenagers. You offered a sympathetic shoulder and love, but she had to go through it herself learning strength from you.

  5. I don’t have kids of my own but I have about 160 students under my wings at school and it breaks my heart to see one of my kiddos hurting. Love the message you shared with your child! Great words to live by!

Leave a comment