SOLC22 – day 12: choices

This morning, I went to a morning swim workout. It is ridiculously early. But I do it. Not just for the obvious exercise component, but for the time it allows my brain to rest. The coach gives the workout and my body does the work.

There is a certain luxury in doing without thinking. I don’t have to decide what’s next or how long or why.

The rest of my day requires choice. And this is also a great luxury that I have based on where I was born and what skin I was born in. I try to never forget this and operate in ways that acknowledge and give back.

Having choice is a gift.

On Monday, our school district is giving students the choice to mask or not mask inside. In the words of the district and the CDC, it is still “strongly recommended” to mask but not required. Choice.

This morning my lane-mate asked what would I do. Mask or no. I knew what I personally preferred. But, for a brief moment I felt pressure to be with the group. And that feeling made my choice so easy.

“I’ll mask. It’s a no brainer.” I said. “First, because I think it is wise. But, more importantly to support those children who feel they want to mask, but are fearful of being different,” I said.

My swim mates agreed that it seemed the best choice. And we continued on doing what we were told.

Sometimes it is a gift to be told what to do.

8 thoughts on “SOLC22 – day 12: choices

  1. I so agree – we have SO many decisions to make in one day, that even deciding what I want for dinner can seem overwhelming. Good for you getting that early morning exercise in. I have to exercise shortly after school ends for the day as I just can’t get up any earlier.

  2. I love how you crafted this piece about choice and made the setting be in the swimming pool doing something where you like how in that setting you are told what to do and you follow. And how in so many other settings, this is not the case. Your slice leaves me pondering much. Thanks for sharing.

  3. So much choice can take its toll. I appreciate the examples you’ve laid out for us to recognize where we have to exercise choice, perhaps without even noticing it. Swimming the given workout as a relief rings familiar, like you really are mentally freed up to just do the thing.

  4. Choice. Freedom. Mask or no mask. We seem to have adjusted to the choice around here. Most are opting for no mask. But not all. I try to respect whatever choice is made. You’re right, though, sometimes it’s better to not have to choose.

  5. There is something very restful to me in not having to make a choice, in having a decision already made. You’re right–there is often privilege in that. I love how you come to your choice about masking–wearing it, to support others who choose to or need to. I will also continue masking, even when we have a choice, to protect those who are most vulnerable.

Leave a comment